Watch Team India as they prepare to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against the Aussies, starting December 17, 2020 on Sony Pictures Sports Network

Watch Team India as they prepare to retain the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against the Aussies, starting December 17, 2020 on Sony Pictures Sports Network


Sony Pictures Sports Network (SPSN), the official broadcaster of India tour of Australia, is all set to broadcast the much-anticipated Border-Gavaskar Test series from December 17, 2020. The series will be aired LIVE and Exclusive on SONY SIX, SONY TEN 1 and SONY TEN 3 channels from 8:30 am IST and will be livestreamed on its on-demand OTT platform SonyLIV. To enhance the fan viewing experience and cater to the needs of all fans, SONY SIX channels will broadcast the series in Tamil, Telugu and English; SONY TEN 3 channels will broadcast the series in Hindi while SONY TEN 1 remains the destination for the English viewing audience.

The Border-Gavaskar Trophy is a four match test series played between the two cricket giants, India and Australia. Since the inception of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (in 1996) India and Australia have been involved in some of the most riveting games where cricket was at its most intense, The sheer competitiveness with which both the teams have gone head to head against each other have often kept the fans at the edge of their seats making the Test series between the two nations, also known as the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, one of the most anticipated series in a cricket calendar. Both teams are preparing to put their game face on. While Australia is currently leading the ICC Test Team rankings, Team India will aim to go full throttle and add points to their kitty in a bid to overtake New Zealand who are at second position and claim the pole position at the end of the Border-Gavaskar series.

Australia and India have played a total of 98 Tests so far, with India emerging as winners in 28 Tests. After the white-ball leg, with India winning the T20Is and Australia clinching the ODIs, both the teams will battle for Border-Gavaskar Trophy, starting with the Day-Night affair in Adelaide. The series will mark India’s first overseas pink ball Day-Night Test, adding historic significance to the contest. The other three test matches will be held at Melbourne Cricket Ground, Sydney Cricket Ground and the Gabba.

The Australian side, led by Tim Paine with have some key players such as Steve Smith, Pat Cummins, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon and Mitchell Starc among others. David Warner and Will Pucovski will both miss the first pink-ball test against India, giving hope to the visitors to exploit the vulnerability at the top of the Australian batting order. Team India, will be led by Virat Kohli for the first Test, with Ajinkya Rahane set to take over the captain’s role in the subsequent tests. Team India will look to bank on the experience of key players such as Jasprit Bumrah, Cheteshwar Pujara and Mayank Agarwal among others to retain the coveted Border-Gavaskar trophy. Both the teams are stacked with world-class players, and we could be in for a tightly contested series across the four games.

Live TV